Acker Awards Toronto 2018!

Award ceremony for The Acker Awards Toronto 2018 is coming up this Monday evening and, although it's a secret who the recipients are, let's just say I have a very good reason for attending this year!


Mon., Oct. 29, 2018

The Theatre Centre
1115 Queen St. West, Toronto
Ph: 416-534-9261

We are excited to invite you to the ACKER AWARDS Toronto 2018 Ceremony that takes place at The Theatre Centre, on Monday, Oct. 29, 7pm - 10pm. Come and celebrate this year's nineteen recipients, recognized for their long-standing creative achievements. Recipients of this award are artists of every disciplines whom we recognize for their groundbreaking, unconventional, cutting edge, nonconforming, risk taking, and community/culture oriented accomplishments. Their names and identities will be only disclosed at the ceremony in their presence.

The Acker Awards was named after Kathy Acker who was a performance artist, punk poet, novelist, playwright with a strong reputation as a sex positive feminist. In her life and work she exemplified risk taking and uncompromising dedication that identifies the true pioneering artist.

The Acker Award was founded and initiated by Clayton Paterson (visual artist and community organizer in New York) and Alan Kaufman (poet and writer in San Francisco) in New York, 2013.

Endorsing the important cultural value and independent nature of the award, Toronto based media-artist Istvan Kantor took upon the task to bring the award to Canada. Together with Eldon Garnet (artist and writer) and Kitsuné Soleil (artist and performer) they formed the Acker Awards Toronto in March 2017.

The Acker Awards Toronto 2018 is co-directed by Thom Sokoloski (artist and theatre director) and Istvan Kantor.

Join us -
Toronto's arts communities
in celebrating
this year's recipients!

Please note:
The Theatre Centre is an accessible facility, with barrier-free washrooms and an accessibility lift to facilitate movement between floors. If you are planning a trip to The Theatre Centre and have any questions about accessibility or would like to make any special arrangements, please call our box office at 416.538.0988. We will be happy to make any arrangements to help facilitate an enjoyable visit to The Theatre Centre.

If you would like to provide feedback on our accessibility policy or procedures or your experience at The Theatre Centre, please call our box office at 416-538-0988 or email us at

Accessible to everyone!

We ask to consider PWYC
(all contributions go to cover expenses)

Bring your friends! Free Catalogue!

Ceremonial Hosts:
Lynda Cheng, Istvan Kantor, Thom Sokoloski

Special participation:
Jubal Brown, Louise Bak, Kitsune Soleil, Neal Armstrong, Becca Jaine & more to announce.

We are so grateful to The Theatre Centre and amazing staff for providing the space and the technical staff for the awards ceremony!


See you at The Theatre Centre!

- W.A.Davison